Patrick Robertson Buchanan, b. 1846 , died in 1929 at the age of 83. Motto: Audacia et Industria Darleith Estate, Bonhill Parish, Cardross (sale of estate UGD91/375) and the house Fairfield, Goring on Thames, Oxon. P R Buchanan signed a gift of mandate for sequestration of his estates (UGD91/371/38). His wife was Harriette (sic) Buchanan formerly Bryans, of Fairfield, Goring on Thames, Oxon, who died 1906 at Muttapatti, Travancore State, South India. His daughter was Nora Harriette MacLaughlin, wife of Dr Alexander John Maunsell MacLaughlin (UGD91/371/33). Arthur Bryans is his wife's cousin (UGD91/371/33). P R Buchanan went to India in 1867 and was working as manager of Monacherra Tea Estate, Hailakandy Valley. In 1871 He became owner of an estate called Chargola in Sylhet, near the western boundary of Cachar. This was actually in fairly close proximity to the Hailakandy Valley. In 1877 P R Buchanan and friends set up an agency in London called P R Buchanan & Co in which Arthur Bryan was also involved in some way. The four partners were: P R Buchanan based in Great Britain; Gow Smith based in India; C T Richardson based in India; and Col. P Robertson a sleeping partner based in Great Britain. By 1878 supervising tea estates was their main business and the backbone of that business was Chargola. Chargola Tea Co was floated in May 1877 and developed into the Chargola Tea Association in 1895 , which comprised of Chargola, Singlacherra, Maguracherra, Hingajea. The original tea estate that were supervised (19) in 1877 were: Chargola, Kalacherra, Tarvincherra, Mookhamcherra, Noracherra, Doorgacherra, Saucherra, Doolabcherra, Lallcherra, Teelacherra, Phanaicherra, Coombiracherra, Oliviacherra, Dukingole, Hingajea, Kajuldhara, Sagurnal, Lallakhal and Baghcherra. In 1878 there were reported to be 4,800 acres under cultivation but very large areas owned but not cultivated. P R Buchanan & Co established a warehousing business. A city warehouse was leased in Street, and Andrew Buchanan was set up as its superintendent. In 1885 a lease was taken on Olivers Wharf, Wapping High Street which they eventually bought. It housed 60,000 packets of tea. In 1900 Colonial Wharf was leased on a 21 year lease and renamed Buchanan's warehouse [this is not to be confused with Buchanan's Wharf which was a separate building]. From 1912 onwards P R Buchanan & Co concentrated on the warehousing business and rubber was the backbone of this. Rubber was stored at Olivers Wharf. The lease for this warehouse was terminated in 1933 . Tea brokerage within P R Buchanan & Co was in the hands of Mr Drew and Mr Boulnois. P R Buchanan & Co was closely connected with the formation of four tea companies, known as the Finlay Group: Consolidated Tea and Lands Co Ltd; Amalgamated Tea Estates Co Ltd; Anglo American Direct Tea Trading Co Ltd; and Kenan Devan Hills Produce Co. P R Buchanan & Co were the London agents for these companies for the sale of produce and for advising the boards of directors on the processes of tea manufacture. James Finlay & Co 1894 became partners in P R Buchanan & Co. For several years Finlay Muir in Calcutta had been local agents for P R Buchanan's firms, and before Finlay it was Williamson Magor & Co. However, James Finlay helped P R Buchanan & Co out of some financial difficulties. In 1896 Mr Buchanan formed the Dumont Coffee Co to acquire 13,000 acres of planted coffee and land belonging to the Santos-Dumont family. P R Buchanan & Co were managing agents. The Dumont Coffee Co had an unfortunate career and P R Buchanan & Co suffered heavy losses. Agua Santa Co (also a coffee company) was liquidated with losses. Patrick Robertson Buchanan retired from the business in November 1905 . Arthur Bryans retired in 1933 and died in 1944 at the age of 92. He was chairman of the Indian Tea Association (London) 1901 and 1902 and became president in 1930 . He was also a member of the committee of the South Indian Association and the Ceylon Association. P R Buchanan & Co s offices were at: Pall Mall (1876 ); 21 Whitehall Place (1877-79 ); 57 Gracechurch Street (1879-83 ); Fenchurch Avenue (1883-90 ); and Leadenhall Street (1890-1929 ). In P R Buchanan & Co 1929 and James Finlay's London office moved into the same premises at 9 St Helen's Place and during WWII their premises were bombed. In P R Buchanan & Co 1924 started building Buchanan's Wharf, which was completed in 1937 and destroyed by enemy action early in WWII.