Contract drawings, 1836-1937; GWR records of shipping movements, 1937-1977; Miscellaneous records, 1855-1965; Tinplate Warehouse ledgers, 1897-1908
Swansea Harbour Trust records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
As trade increased throughout the eighteenth century it became necessary to provide more permanent harbour facilities and so, in 1791, the Swansea Harbour Trust was founded to undertake this responsibility. The role of the Trust was to "repair, enlarge and preserve the Harbour of Swansea". The first dock to be constructed in Swansea, the North Dock, was completed in 1852 following an Act of Parliament of 1836. In 1859, the South Dock was constructed. Because of the increase of trade through the harbour, another Act was obtained in 1874 to develop the eastern side of the Tawe estuary. In 1881, the Prince of Wales Dock was opened; in 1909, the King's Dock and finally, in 1920, the Queen's Dock. Following the Great Western Railway (Swansea Harbour) Vesting Act 1923, ownership of the harbour passed from the Swansea Harbour Trust to the GWR. When the railways were nationalised in 1948, control passed to the British Transport Commission, subsequently to the British Transport Docks Board. In 1983, the port was made part of Associated British Ports plc.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected.