Congregational meeting minutes 1910-1961; financial records1830-1974; registers of services 1912-1974; registers of baptisms 1812-1949, marriages 1844-1953, funerals 1880-1977, communicants 1896; miscellaneous 1849-1958.
Records of St Mary's Church, Arbroath
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
After being driven out of the parish church in 1694, a meeting house was set up in a house in the Marketgate. From 1732 services took place in he home of Rev. Henry Edgar in the High Street. This was replaced in 1768 by another meeting house in Hill Terrace, followed later by another in a house built by Rev. Patrick Rose in West Abbey Street. After the Episcopal and Qualified congregations joined in 1806 they worshipped in the former Qualified Chapel, St Mary's which was sold in 1859, five years after the present St Mary's Church was built.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the church in 1992 (AccM/282).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available. There is a database index to the baptisms and marriages.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.