Information about 'La Marguerite' Paddle Steam Ferry

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Includes a letter from the Guildhall Library, London, to the depositor, giving technical details and something of the history of the ship.

Originally built in 1894 to ferry between Tilbury and Boulogne, she was not profitable and was sold to the Liverpool and North Wales Steamship Co. in 1904. In 1915 she was requisitioned by the Admiralty as a transport ship for troops, sailing between Southampton and various French ports. She was sold to T W Ward of Briton Ferry for breaking up in 1925.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.