Society records of the Methodist Church, Raskelf Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Papers concerning the appointment of trustees, 1928; file of correspondence and papers relating to the sale of the old chapel and schoolroom, 1894-1895; file of correspondence and papers relating to the building of the new chapel, 1894-1895.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

The first Wesleyan Methodist Chapel at Raskelf was built in 1835. It was later superseded by a new chapel erected on West Moor Road in 1894, on a site purchased from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. The old chapel was purchased by the Parish Council and became the parish hall.

The chapel was part of the Easingwold Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, this became the Easingwold Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion, although it is unclear if the chapel at Raskelf was still active at this time. Raskelf was also included in the York, North Circuit which was formed in 1974.

The 1894 chapel was later converted into a private residence. Monthly Methodist services are now held at the Anglican parish church.

Since 2012 the Methodist congregation at Raskelf has been part of the single York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 2013. Further additions were made to the archive in 2013 and 2016.

Note

The first Wesleyan Methodist Chapel at Raskelf was built in 1835. It was later superseded by a new chapel erected on West Moor Road in 1894, on a site purchased from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. The old chapel was purchased by the Parish Council and became the parish hall.

The chapel was part of the Easingwold Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, this became the Easingwold Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion, although it is unclear if the chapel at Raskelf was still active at this time. Raskelf was also included in the York, North Circuit which was formed in 1974.

The 1894 chapel was later converted into a private residence. Monthly Methodist services are now held at the Anglican parish church.

Since 2012 the Methodist congregation at Raskelf has been part of the single York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received prior to 2013 . Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 28.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York, North Circuit and a small number of records relating to the Easingwold Circuit are deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The first forms part of: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

The main records of Easingwold Methodist Circuit are deposited at North Yorkshire Record Office (Reference: R/M/EAW).

Additional Information

Published

GB193