William Graham Vivian and Family Collection

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 217 LAC/116
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      6 boxes and 2 volumes

Scope and Content

Title deeds concerning the Vivian estates in Blackpill, Mumbles and elsewhere in Gower 1799-1921; abstracts of title for the Woodlands Estate 1809-1861, Blackpill, Mayals and Caswell 1870-1891 and the Glamorgan Estate of Henry Hussey Vivian 1853-1898; estate papers 1761-1947; inventories of Vivian family residences with sale catalogues and papers 1789-1952; financial papers 1898-1949.

Administrative / Biographical History

This collection relates mainly to the gradual acquisition of the Clyne Castle estate by William Graham Vivian, the second son of John Henry Vivian, the industrialist of Singleton Abbey. Clyne Castle, Blackpill was built towards the end of the eighteenth century by Richard Phillips and was originally called Woodlands Castle and the estate Woodlands Estate. The house and lands were part of the Manor of Oystermouth and in 1799 was purchased by George Warde of Bradfield, Berkshire, later General Warde. He died in 1830 and the estate was later bought in 1834 by Jenkin Davies Berrington of Swansea. It was passed on to his son Arthur Davies Berrington in 1857. Soon after, negotiations between Arthur Berrington Davies and William Graham Vivian were entered into and the estate was probably purchased by Vivian c1860. The estate was added to by William Graham Vivian. The castle became known as Clyne Castle sometime before 1870. William Graham Vivian later came into possession of the Parc le Breos estate of Henry Hussey Vivian, William's elder brother. William Graham Vivian died in 1912. The Clyne Castle Estate was inherited by his youngest unmarried sister, Dulcie Charlotte. Dulcie Charlotte died in 1921 and at this date the estate passed to her and William Graham's nephew Algernon Walker Heneage, with the obligation of taking the surname Vivian. On his death in 1952 the castle and its surrounding lands were purchased by Swansea Borough Council and its contents sold by auction in 1952. The University College Swansea bought the house and some land for a hall of residence in 1953.

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Please note that some collections contain sensitive information and access may be restricted.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Geographical Names