Cambridge University Guild of Change Ringers: Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

A. Minute books

Minutes of the foundation meeting, committee meetings and annual general meetings, 4 February 1879 - 22 August 1973.

B. Peal books

A record of the peals rung by the Guild, February 1881 - June 1968, giving date, place, type and number of each peal. Printed cards commemorating the peals are pasted into the books.

C. Register of ringing

A folder containing handwritten records of peals rung, September 1959 - December 1973.

D. Accounts

An account book detailing income and expenditure, 1882-1906; a notebook of Master's postal and telephone expenses, April 1956 - March 1961; and the Secretary's petty cash book, April 1952 - March 1976.

E. Registers and lists of members

An attendance register recording attendances and absences from bell ringing practices, c. 1879-1885, and an address book for c. 1950s-1960s.

F. Photographs

An album containing annual photographs of the ringers, 1881-1956, with an envelope of negatives for the 1881-1912 prints; and a folder of miscellaneous newscuttings, photographs and lists of ringers.

G. General

History of the Guild, vol. II, 1929-1954; a notebook containing the beginning of a description of the bells of nine churches in Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire, Huntingdonshire and Northamptonshire; a large roll containing the seating plan for the centenary dinner, 17 March 1979; and miscellaneous papers, include reports on ringing tours.

Administrative / Biographical History

Cambridge University Guild of Change Ringers was founded on 4 February 1879. The society is a student body that seeks to promote the art of change ringing among members of the university. It organises bell ringings, including ringing tours during Guild Week, and holds an annual dinner. The society owns a library of books on bells and bell ringing, and has ties to the Oxford University Guild.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Deposited on permanent loan by the Cambridge Guild of Change Ringers, 1979.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

None.

Bibliography

Further information about the Guild can be found on its website (www.cugcr.org.uk/).