The collection contains a short account by Reverend C.H. Hartshorne of the memorial to Queen Eleanor in London Road, Hardingstone, near Northampton, entitled 'Account of the Cross at Hardingstone in the County of Northampton'. It comprises details of expenses for the building of the memorial, extracted from original documents. There is also a photograph of the memorial.
Manuscript account relating to the Queen Eleanor Cross, Hardingstone, Northamptonshire, by Charles Hartshorne, undated, c.1860
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 79
- Dates of Creation1860 c
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Reverend Charles Henry Hartshorne (1802-1865) was an antiquarian, a Fellow of the Society of Arts, and a member of the Roxburghe Club. He was educated at St John's College, Cambridge where he attained a B.A. in 1825 and an M.A. in 1828. The bulk of his clerical career was spent in Northamptonshire. He served as perpetual curate of Cogenhoe, 1838-50, and rector of Holdenby from 1850-65. He published a number of works about British antiquities and the history of Northamptonshire and Northumberland including 'Historic Memorials of Northampton' (Northampton: Abel and Sons, 1848).
No archival arrangement has been necessary.
Accessible to all registered readers.
Other Finding Aids
This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on the description belongs to the University of Nottingham.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Conditions Governing Use
Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com).
The collection was acquired by the library of the University of Nottingham in about 1945.