Llanfair School opened 3rd February 1862. Before the National School was built, a house adjoining the Jesus Chapel approximately one mile south of Llanfair DC, was used as a school for about 80 pupils of the district. Plans were drawn up 1858/1859 for the Rev E.J. Jones by architects, Lloyd Williams and Underwood of Denbigh, for a National (Church) School, which was built at a cost of £960 by 1861. The school opened as a Mixed Junior and Infants school.
The first school log book commenced in 1868 written by head teacher G.W. Jones (ED/LB/55/1)
In 1872 the new head teacher was D. Thomas who remained in post until 1902 when he retired after 29 years' service. In 1895 construction was completed by William Roberts of Clwyd Street, Ruthin, extending the school classrooms and cloakrooms (ED/LB/55/2 page 130/132). At this time there were over 80 pupils on roll.
In January 1905 Edmund Jones became the new head teacher. In September 1906 Welsh teaching commenced throughout the school. In 1908-9 there was a report on an 'Evening School' held at the school, for artisans and land workers, for the improvement of Arithmetic and English (ED/LB/55/5).
On 31st August 1932 head teacher Edmund Jones retired after 27 years' service. He was followed by Llewelyn Hywel Edwards who became head teacher on 5th September 1932.
In February 1935 electric lighting was installed in the school (ED/LB/55/6).
The school building has been Grade 2 listed since 2001 as an example of 19th century building of 'Tudor' character.
In 2012 the school celebrated its 150 years anniversary. In 2015 Llanfair DC Controlled Primary School exists on the same site, operating as a voluntary controlled bilingual state school, affiliated to the Church in Wales. It has over 100 pupils on roll. Llanfair DC Primary School is due to close in July 2016 to be amalgamated with Pentrecelyn Primary School.
Also known as Ysgol Llanfair.
This collection includes log books, an admission register and a punishment book.
Wrexham Road, Llanfair DC, LL15 2RU
PD/55/1/21- School Accounts, 1870-1875
PD/55/1/111 - Plans of Proposed Alteration to National School - amended December 1894
DD/DM/1514- Papers of D.R. Thomas
DD/DM/1401/13- Photograph of teachers and pupils outside the school, c.1910
DD/DM/1028/27-30- Photographs of pupils at Llanfair D C School Rhos Street and Borthyn schools.c.1925
DD/DM/642/3- Photograph and negatives of alterations to Llanfair D.C. primary school. c.1960
PPD/55/19- Pupils and teachers of Llanfair church school. n.d. [c. 1909-10].
PPD/55/20- Llanfair National School groups. n.d. [c. 1900]. (3 items)
PPD/55/50- Llanfair D.C. primary school pupils. 1948 (2 items)