Annual Award Schemes

Scope and Content

The records consist of applications for awards, both successful and unsuccessful; correspondence relating to the awards and evaluative reports from the participants.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Award Schemes started in 1990, but there are no collective records until 1993. A complete list of all the writers receiving awards can be found in NWP 3/1/4/3. Applications were considered for commissioning awards, or for a residency. Those receiving an award were required to offer evaluative feedback to the Board of North West Playwrights, via the Director. In 1998 a new scheme was added to the exiting ones, called First Scene, it is designed to help writers get a first production. [As yet no records relating to applications under the First Scene Scheme have been deposited].


These records were originally stored in large lever arch files, one file for each financial year. In order to make them easier to consult, these files have been broken down into three sub-series, two reflecting the different types of award, and a further one for unsuccessful applications [which were found all together].

The three series are as follows:

  • NWP 4/1 Commissions
  • NWP 4/2 Residencies
  • NWP 4/3 Unsuccessful Applications