Reports 1892-1947; minutes 1945-1948; treasurer's accounts 1892-1946; miscellaneous records and correspondence 1894-1950 and photograph of the founder, Robert Cocks.
Dundee Eye Institution
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Dundee Eye Institution was established in 1836 by Dr Cocks, a practitioner in the city, to provide a free service to those who could not afford ophthalmic treatment. It operated in premises at 84 Murraygate from 1844 to 1892, when it moved to a larger building at 86 Nethergate so that the Institution could expand its work.
At first hospital operations were carried out at the Royal Infirmaries in Edinburgh and Glasgow, but in 1892 the Dundee Royal Infirmary established an ophthalmic department which included two four bed wards for Eye Institution patients. After this the Eye Institution confined itself to out-patient work, though it continued to develop links with the Medical School of St Andrews University, which was then situated in Dundee. The Institution closed circa 1975.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Clinical information is closed for 100 years.
The records were deposited by the Administrator of the Dundee Royal Infirmary in 1986 (AccM/227).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.