Papers relating to the camps Stalag VIII B Lamsdorf and Teschen Camp, 1942-1944, including statistics on inmates; deaths/discharges; executions; health statistics; organisational changes. Also other documents including weapons handling procedure; reports on escapes; arrest warrants; POW statements and correspondence with the Swiss legation in Germany.
Stalag VIIIB Lamsdorf and Teschen: documents (microfilm)
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1556 WL 546
- Dates of Creation1942-1944
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialGerman
- Physical Description163 frames
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Stalag VIII B Lamsdorf (now Lambinowice in Silesia) also known as Kommando E562, became a part of the Auschwitz/Monowitz concentration camp complex. It was opened in 1939 to house Polish prisoners from the German September 1939 offensive. Later approximately 100,000 prisoners from Australia, Belgium, Great Britain, Canada, France, Greece, New Zealand, Netherlands, Poland, South Africa, Soviet Union, Yugoslavia and the United States passed through this camp. In 1941 a separate camp, Stalag VIII-F was set up close by to house the Soviet prisoners. In 1943, the Lamsdorf camp was split up, and many of the prisoners (and Arbeitskommandos) were transferred to two new base camps Stalag VIII-C Sagan and Stalag VIII-D Teschen (modern Éeský Tísìn). The base camp at Lamsdorf was renumbered Stalag 344. The Soviet Army reached the camp 17 March 1945.
Conditions Governing Access
Jewish Central Information Office
Other Finding Aids
Description exists to this archive on the Wiener Library's online catalogue www.wienerlibrary.co.uk.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Entry compiled by Howard Falksohn.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies can be made for personal use. Permission must be sought for publication.
Location of Originals
Wiener Collection, Tel Aviv University, Israel.