Records of the Llandaff Burial Board, 1859-1922, including minutes, 1859-1922; and receipts and payments book, 1884-1897.
Llandaff Burial Board Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Llandaff Burial Board (Glamorgan) was set up by the Llandaff parish vestry, Glamorgan, in 1859, and purchased three pieces of land adjacent to Llandaff cathedral graveyard for a new cemetery, which opened in 1860. The Burial Board was reconstituted in June 1882 as the Llandaff District Burial Board. In 1895, the powers of the Burial Board were transferred to the Burial Board Committee of Llandaff Parish Council. Llandaff Parish Council came to an end in 1922, when Llandaff was absorbed into the County Borough of Cardiff, and the County Borough became responsible for Llandaff cemetery.
Arranged in chronological order.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Hayden Burns for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Glamorgan Record Office, Catalogue of records for the Llandaff Burial Board; Riden, Philip, Records Sources for Local History, (London, 1987); Stephens, W.B., Sources for English Local History, (Cambridge, 1981).
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Compiled by [INSERT NAME] for the Glamorgan Archives, with reference to [NAME ANY PUBLICATIONS USED].
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of the Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.