Parish records of Dalby

Scope and Content

Includes register of Christenings, 1656-2001; register of marriages, 1656-1975; register of burials, 1656-1999; register of banns, 1823-2006; register of services, 1943-1958; records concerning benefice income, including note of glebe, 1662, mortgage, 1870, and notes on village and value of living, 1859; churchwardens’ records, including correspondence and papers relating to repair of bells, 1976, and papers relating to the church organ, 1982-1983; records of incumbent, including Papists received into Church of England, 1678-1692; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1912-1980, and accounts, 1947, 1965, 1969-1971, 1975-1983; papers relating to uniting of the benefice of Dalby and Whenby, 1980-1982; plan of church and sketch of chancel, 1924, 1926.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Peter at Dalby dates to the early twelfth century. The advowson of the church was held by St Mary’s Abbey, York, from this time until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when it reverted to the Crown. Between the seventeenth and nineteenth century, patronage was exercised by the Lumley family.

The living was augmented in 1870 through Queen Anne's Bounty. The parish covered the hamlets of Dalby and Skewsby and the area was often known as Dalby cum Skewsby.

The church building, which appears to have been previously dedicated to St Mary, was expanded in the thirteenth and fifteenth, and was restored in 1886 by James Demaine and Walter Brierley of York.

The parish was united with that of Whenby in the early 1980s and today is known as Dalby with Whenby. It is one of six parishes within the Howardian Group benefice.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1978 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1984, 2003 and 2007.

Note

The church of St Peter at Dalby dates to the early twelfth century. The advowson of the church was held by St Mary’s Abbey, York, from this time until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when it reverted to the Crown. Between the seventeenth and nineteenth century, patronage was exercised by the Lumley family.

The living was augmented in 1870 through Queen Anne's Bounty. The parish covered the hamlets of Dalby and Skewsby and the area was often known as Dalby cum Skewsby.

The church building, which appears to have been previously dedicated to St Mary, was expanded in the thirteenth and fifteenth, and was restored in 1886 by James Demaine and Walter Brierley of York.

The parish was united with that of Whenby in the early 1980s and today is known as Dalby with Whenby. It is one of six parishes within the Howardian Group benefice.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2007.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1656-1812, marriages, 1656-1885, and burials, 1656-1812, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 673).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Whenby are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193