Registers (including service and banns registers) 1886-1994; licences 1898-1905; Churchwardens' accounts 1928-1941; papers relating to church property and buildings (including faculties) 1888-1949; photographs 1889-1955 and n.d.; PCC and Church Council minutes 1888-1987; Vestry minutes 1887-1985; parish magazines 1886-1972; miscellaneous 1890-1961.
Swansea, St Gabriel Ecclesiastical Parish Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The church is situated in the Brynmill area of Swansea, Glamorgan. Built 1889, as a replacement to St Michael's Iron Church, a chapel of ease to St Mary's which opened in 1886. Formerly included St Augustine's, built 1898, closed 1994 and later demolished.
Ecclesiastical records are arranged into Incumbent's records, PCC records, Churchwardens' records and church affairs.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ecclesiastical Parishes, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible