Employment Registers 1923-1954
Garngoch No. 3 Colliery
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Garngoch Collieries were sunk at Gorseinon near Swansea. In 1870, Glassbrook Bros. Ltd. sank the first two pits at the site and named them Garngoch No. 1 and No. 2. Garngoch No. 3 was a much later sinking during the 1920s.
When the industry was nationalised in 1947, the Colliery was placed in the National Coal Board's South Western Division, No. 1 (Swansea) Area. Garngoch No. 1 Pit was closed in April 1952 and the No. 2 Pit shortly afterwards. By 1954, the No. 3 Pit had been placed into another administrative area, South Western Division, No. 1 (Swansea) Area, No. 2 (Morlais) Group. Garngoch was finally closed in February 1966.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), p. 228
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.