The majority of the documents relate to Glyn family property in Ewell but also deal with estates in London, Dorset and Glamorgan. One of the most significant items is a 16th century copy of a survey and rental of the manor of Ewell, 1408 (-/1/1/1). The Glyn family were rectors of Ewell in the 19th century and, therefore, much of the collection relates to parish matters, such as the erection of Rectory House in the 1830s (later Glyn House) and the rebuilding of the parish church in 1846-1847, for which the architect was Henry Clutton of London (sometimes known as Henry Clutton of Hartswood, to distinguish him from another architect of the same name). Papers relating to parish charities are included in the collection, as well as papers which are, strictly speaking, Ewell parish records. The 20th century papers of the collection include those relating to the construction of the Ewell by-pass road (A240).
Papers relating to the activities of the Glyns in the militia in the early 19th century are present in the collection, along with a range of contemporary family diaries, some of foreign travels.
A detailed summary of the records is below:
6832/1/ TITLE DEEDS (1408)-1922
The title deeds to the Glyn estates in Ewell, London, Hampshire, Dorset and Wales were in considerable disarray on receipt at Surrey History Centre. Having been physically widely distributed, it was impossible to re-create the original bundles. Some attempt has been made in this list to draw together deeds relating to particular parcels of land and properties. Where possible these artificial 'bundles' have been checked against abstracts of title and further deeds added as dictated by the abstract. In many cases, however, it has proved impossible to identify which property a particular deed refers to, since there are apparently still many 'gaps' in the sequences of deeds. Such deeds have therefore been listed in chronological order following the artificial groupings. Further research may well reveal where these deeds rightly belong. This section has been arranged as follows: early copies of court rolls relating to the manor or Ewell; deeds relating to the descent of the impropriate rectory of Ewell; deeds relating to the whole or large part of the estate once it had been acquired by the Lewen/Glyn family; deeds tracing the descent of the various pieces of land which later became part of the Glyn estate; leases by the Lewen/Glyn family of various small parts of the estate; deeds relating to property held elsewhere, other than Surrey.
6832/1/1/ MANOR OF EWELL (1408)-1667
6832/1/2/ DEEDS RELATING TO THE DESCENT OF THE IMPROPRIATE RECTORY OF EWELL (1605)-1710
In 1690 Barton Holiday acquired the Impropriate Rectory of Ewell from William Gardiner, whose family had apparently acquired it in 1605. In 1705 it was sold to Sir Richard Bulkeley who, in 1709, sold it to Sir William Lewen. It was bequeathed in 1722 to George Lewen, his nephew, and in 1743 to Susanna Lewen, wife of Richard Glyn. In 1772 it passed to Sir George Glyn. For further deeds relating to the descent of the rectory of Ewell, 1691-1747, see K86/1/1-5.
6832/1/3/ LEWEN/GLYN DEEDS RELATING TO WHOLE/PART OF EWELL ESTATE 1731-1845
6832/1/4/ DEEDS OF PROPERTIES INCORPORATED INTO LEWEN/GLYN ESTATE IN EWELL 1511-1909
For further deeds relating to Glyn properties in Ewell, 1751-1790, see K86/1/8-29.
6832/1/5/ LEWEN/GLYN LEASES OF VARIOUS PROPERTIES WITHIN THE EWELL ESTATE 1731-1942
For list of tenants, 1848, see -/2/1/1 in Estate administration section.
6832/1/6/ GLYN EXCHANGES OF LAND IN EWELL 1786-1880
6832/1/7/ PROPERTIES IN LONDON 1616-1731
6832/1/7/ Billingsgate 1633-1696
6832/1/7/ Pudding Lane, London 1616-1677
6832/1/8/ SOPLEY, HAMPSHIRE 1712-1740
6832/1/9/ DORSET 1589-1780
Further records of the Glyn's Dorset estates, 1327-1802, may be found at Dorset History Centre under ref: D/GLY.
6832/1/9/ Manor of Little Hinton, alias Stanbridge, Dorset 1589-1780
For release of the manor of Little Hinton alias Stanbridge; Ashton Farm; and advowson of the rectory of Stanbridge to secure £1,000, 6 Apr 1791, see K86/1/30.
6832/1/9/ Wambrooke, Dorset 1689
6832/1/9/ Winford Eagle, Dorset 1768
6832/1/10/ GLOUCESTERSHIRE 1689-1721
6832/1/10/ Whaddon, Gloucestershire 1689-1721
6832/1/11/ WALES 1563-1922
For Ordnance Survey maps showing location of land in Glamorgan to which Glyn had mineral rights see -/2/2/26/1-15.
6832/1/11/ Part of burgage in West Street, Cardiff 1623-1687
6832/1/11/ Shop with chambers over in West Street, Cardiff 1655
6832/1/11/ Messuage in West Street, Cardiff 1656-1665
6832/1/11/ Two-thirds of a messuage in West Street, Cardiff 1732
6832/1/11/ Messuage and land at St Fagans and Michaelston-super-Ely, Glamorgan 1690-1727
For lease for a year, 1708, see K86/3/2.
6832/1/11/ Bryn D?, manor of Caegurwen, Languick 1718-1719
For lease for 21 years, 1792, see K86/3/3.
6832/1/11/ Messuage and land at Argoed Avon 1563-1707
6832/1/11/ Messuage at Coychurch, Glamorgan 1865-1922
6832/1/11/ Yniscynon, Aberdare, Glamorgan 1692-1858
For conveyance of Miskin House, 1703, see K86/2/1.
6832/1/11/ Llantrissant, Glamorgan 1855-1863
For Ordnance Survey maps showing location of the following properties see -/2/2/26/1-15.
6832/1/11/ Other, and unidentified, properties 1689-1775
6832/2/ ESTATE ADMINISTRATION [C.1730]-1908
6832/2/1/ EWELL PROPERTY [C.1730]-1908
6832/2/1/ List of tenants 1848
6832/2/1/ Copyhold land 1793-[c.1809]
For admissions and surrenders to copyhold property see -/1/4/-.
6832/2/1/ Reports and valuations 1835-1908
6832/2/1/ Tithes [c.1730]-1847
6832/2/1/ Inclosure 1797-1880
6832/2/1/ Land tax 1799-1879
6832/2/1/ Bills, receipts etc 1785-1812
6832/2/1/ Rights of way 1779-1820
6832/2/1/ Turnpike Road 1834
6832/2/1/ Maps and plans 1835-1875
6832/2/2/ PROPERTY ELSEWHERE 1732-1879
6832/2/2/ Eastbury, Dorset 1778
6832/2/2/ Ashton Farm, Little Hinton, Dorset 1776-1801
6832/2/2/ Winford Eagle, Dorset 1777
6832/2/2/ Avon, Hampshire 1785
6832/2/2/ Wales 1718-1838
6832/2/2/ Ordnance Survey maps of Glamorgan showing Glyn mineral rights 1874-1879
6832/3/ EWELL PARISH MATTERS (1537)-1939
For items relating to the rebuilding of the church see section -/4/-.
6832/3/1/ BENEFICE AND INCUMBENT (1537)-1886
6832/3/2/ CHURCH FABRIC AND PROPERTY 1726-1893
For papers relating to the church rebuilding see section -/4/-. For faculty for the demolition of old church, removal of monuments and stopping up of Church Path, 17 Feb 1848, see K86/1/53.
6832/3/2/ Church and graveyard upkeep 1726-1889
6832/3/2/ Organ 1850-1872
For items relating to the removal of the organ from the old to new church see (-/4/7/3-4).
6832/3/3/ PARISH FINANCE 1828-1884
6832/3/4/ PARISH ADMINISTRATION AND EVENTS 1840-1928
6832/3/5/ PARISH CHARITIES 1799-1939
6832/3/6/ NATIONAL SCHOOL 1838-1871
6832/3/7/ VICARAGE 1843-1885
6832/4/ REBUILDING OF EWELL CHURCH 1822-1851
By the time the Rev George Glyn became Vicar of Ewell in 1831 the parish church was in a poor state of repair. Reports on the condition of the church confirmed that it was unsafe (-/4/1/1-4) and, largely at the instigation of the Rev Sir George Glyn, it was decided to rebuild the church. Sir George offered a plot of land for the building, 140 yards north of the old church, and £500 towards the cost, on condition that a footpath (Church Path) which ran near his new Rectory should be stopped up (see -/4/2/15). After some opposition, particularly from James Gadesden of Ewell Castle and Thomas Alcock of Kingswood Warren, the decision was made to rebuild. The new church, built to a design by Henry Clutton, was consecrated on 24 Aug 1848. To placate opposition, the tower of the old church was retained and used as a mortuary chapel. Sir George's own notes on the progress of the plans for the rebuilding and the rebuilding itself may be found at -/4/9/1.
6832/4/1/ CONDITION OF THE OLD CHURCH 1842-1846
6832/4/2/ VESTRY MINUTES, AGREEMENTS, FACULTIES ETC, WITH CORRESPONDENCE, RELATING TO THE REBUILDING OF THE CHURCH 1822-1850
For copy conveyance of land for new church, 19 Jun 1847, see K86/1/52. For faculty for the demolition of old church, removal of monuments and stopping up of Church Path, 17 Feb 1848, see K86/1/53.
6832/4/3/ FINANCE 1845-1851
6832/4/3/ Grants and loans for rebuilding 1846-1849
6832/4/3/ Church Building Fund 1845-1849
6832/4/3/ Bills and receipts for building work on new church 1847-1851
6832/4/3/ Church building accounts 1847-1850
6832/4/3/ Solicitors' bills 1848-1849
6832/4/4/ BUILDING WORKS -1850
For bills and receipts for building works see above.
6832/4/4/ Correspondence etc with Henry Clutton 1845-1850
For Clutton's report on the condition of the old church see -/4/1/2 above. For Clutton's plan of new church see -/4/4/5 below.
6832/4/4/ Plans -1846
6832/4/4/ Specification [c.1847]
6832/4/4/ Correspondence 1847
6832/4/5/ OPPOSITION TO REBUILDING 1845-1850
See also -/4/3/18 above.
6832/4/6/ STOPPING UP OF CHURCH PATH 1847-1849
For certified copy of extract from Ewell vestry minutes relating to church rebuilding and stopping up of footpath, (16 Feb 1847), see -/4/2/10 above.
6832/4/7/ CHURCH FURNISHINGS, INCLUDING ITEMS FROM OLD CHURCH -1850
6832/4/8/ LAYING OF FOUNDATION STONE AND CONSECRATION 1847-1848
6832/4/9/ NOTES BY THE REV SIR GEORGE GLYN 1847
6832/4/10/ NEWSCUTTING 1848
6832/5/ LIBERTY OF KINGSWOOD [C.1800]-1875
A chapel existed at Kingswood, a detached liberty of the parish of Ewell, in the Middle Ages but had fallen into disuse by the sixteenth century. Kingswood was then without a church until 1835 when a building to seat 150 people was erected and consecrated in 1836. In 1838 a new ecclesiastical parish was formed from portions of the parishes of Ewell and Banstead. The church proved too small for the growing population and in 1848 work began on a larger building on a new site. The cost was met by Thomas Alcock, lord of the manor of Kingswood, who lived at Kingswood Warren. The church was completed in 1852.
6832/5/1/ BENEFICE AND ENDOWMENT 1836-1875
6832/5/2/ TITHES [C.1800]-1873
6832/6/ PERSONAL -1944
6832/6/1/ LEWEN FAMILY PAPERS -(1738)
Sir William Lewen (1656-1721) acquired property in Ewell (including the Rectory) and elsewhere which he left to his three nephews, Charles, George and Robert, successively. Robert, in his will of 1751, left the property to Richard Glyn who had married Susannah Lewen, his niece, in 1736.
6832/6/2/ SIR RICHARD GLYN (1711-1773) 1759
A drysalter or oilman in Hatton Garden, Richard Glyn was a founding partner of the Vere, Glyn and Hallifax Bank, which opened in 1754. He was knighted in 1752, served as Lord Mayor of London in 1758-1759 and was granted a baronetcy by George II in 1759. He was also MP for the City from 1758 to 1768 and later MP for Coventry. He married Susanna Lewen (d.1751) in 1736, through whom he acquired the Ewell properties and property in Dorset, Gloucestershire and London. For articles of agreement between Sir Richard Glyn and George Glyn, his son, regarding his inheritance, 1769, and copy of Richard Glyn's will, 1770, see -/1/3/9-10.
6832/6/3/ SIR GEORGE GLYN (1739-1814) 1773-1814
Son of Richard and Susannah and inherited the baronetcy and Ewell property in 1773. He was appointed Turnpike Trustee in 1773 and was a Justice of the Peace for at least the period 1776-1788. He was a Captain in the 61st Foot Regiment and living in Blandford in 1769 and in the Dorset Regiment in 1797. He resigned his commission in 1798 when he was appointed Colonel of the 8th Surrey Regiment of Militia. In 1769 George married Jane Lewes (d.1790) and in 1796 married Catherine Powell (d.1844).
6832/6/3/ Sir George Glyn: financial papers 1776-1814
6832/6/4/ SIR LEWEN POWELL GLYN (1801-1840) 1821-1845
Eldest son of Sir George Glyn and Catherine Powell, Lewen inherited the baronetcy and property as a minor on the death of his father in 1814. It appears that he did not live in Rectory House, Ewell, between 1820 and 1830 since the house was let (see -/1/5/20). Lewen died of epilepsy at a private asylum near Bath in 1840.
6832/6/5/ THE REV SIR GEORGE LEWEN GLYN (1804-1885) 1824-1889
George Lewen Glyn was the second son of George Glyn and Catherine Powell and succeeded to the baronetcy on his brother, Lewen's, death in 1840. George Lewen was admitted to the church in 1830 and became Vicar of Ewell in 1831, being appointed by his brother. In 1838 he married Emily Jane Birch of Marylebone (d.1854) and in 1859 married Henrietta Amelia Carr Glyn (d.1903), his relative, great granddaughter of Sir Richard Glyn. Sir George Lewen Glyn remained Vicar and Rector of Ewell until his death in 1885 and played a prominent part in the affairs of Ewell. He rebuilt Ewell Rectory (now Glyn House) in the 1830s and was largely responsible for the rebuilding of Ewell church in the 1840s.
6832/6/5/ Church career and appointment to Ewell Vicarage 1824-1839
6832/6/5/ Correspondence 1844-1860
6832/6/5/ Financial 1846-1889
6832/6/5/ Rectory House (later Glyn House) [c.1833]-1842
The old rectory house, built in c.1705, belonged to Sir Lewen Glyn when the Rev George Glyn became vicar in 1831. It had apparently been leased out in 1820 (see -/1/5/20). In 1836 the Rev George Lewen Glyn began building a new house on the site, designed by Henry Duesbury. It was completed in 1839. For 99 year lease of the site of the rectory house by Sir Lewen Glyn to the Rev George Glyn, 30 Nov 1836, see K86/1/48-49.
6832/6/5/ Memoranda books and notes 1830-1880
6832/6/5/ Travel journals and notes 1866-
Includes visit to St Petersburg and Moscow, [Russia], Sweden and Norway, 1866
6832/6/5/ Retirement and death 1881-1885
6832/6/6/ EMILY JANE GLYN (NEE BIRCH), WIFE OF THE REV GEORGE LEWEN GLYN, (1815-1854) (1816)-1845
Emily married George Lewen Glyn in 1838. She bore him 4 children, two of whom died in infancy. Their son, George Tubervill (1841-1891), succeeded his father to the baronetcy in 1885. Includes travel journal of [Lady] Glyn recording visit to Normandy and Paris [France] and return home to Brighton, Sussex, 1845.
6832/6/7/ EMILY GLYN (1849-1920) -1914
The second child of the Rev Sir George and Emily Glyn, Emily married Alfred Deedes in 1871.
6832/6/8/ HENRIETTA AMELIA CARR GLYN (1829-1903) 1845-1903
Henrietta married Sir George Glyn in 1859 and bore him 5 children. Many of her diaries have survived and reveal her active involvement in the parish.
6832/6/8/ Lady Henrietta Amelia Glyn's holiday diaries 1874-(1900)
These are descriptive accounts, each written on one or two loose sheets of paper, of visits to Glyn farms in Wales and the Lake District.
6832/6/8/ Diaries, including cash accounts 1858-1903
The diaries comprise small pre-printed pocket books and record brief notes of events, dinner and house guests, holidays and disbursements. The diaries are unsigned but internal evidence reveals that they were written by Lady Henrietta Amelia Glyn. A few entries, particularly relating to family members, are mentioned in the following list. The boards have been removed from all the diaries.
6832/6/8/ Historical notes on Ewell 1871
6832/6/9/ ANNA LYDIA GLYN (1860-1895) 1875-1893
Anna Lydia was the eldest child of the Rev Sir George Glyn and Henrietta. She was a keen traveller and kept journals and diaries of her journeys. She was also a novelist and several of her writings have survived. She died aged 35 after having 11 teeth extracted (see Henrietta's diary for 1895 (-/6/8/48)).
6832/6/9/ Travel diaries, journals and notes 1875-1893
Includes diary of holiday at Southsea and Isle of Wight (1875 and 1876) and Paris and Rouen, France, (1877 and 1878) [by ?Anna Lydia Glyn]. Includes description of Paris Exhibition, 1878; travel journal recording visits to Bavaria, Belgium, France, the Lake District, Cornwall, 1885-1891; folder of detailed, descriptive letters written by Anna S Glyn on a ten-week holiday tour to the Mediterranean and Middle East [A full transcript of the letters has been published by the Nonsuch Antiquarian Society, The Letters of Anna Glyn, 1892]; typescript entitled 'A trip to Palestine taken by Anna Lydia Glyn in the spring of /92 as described in letters home', including description of Siegfried Wagner and substance of conversation with him [appears to be a typescript of parts of the previous item]; notebook containing journal of visit to Australia and Ceylon, 1893; notebook containing remainder of Anna Lydia Glyn's journal of visit to Ceylon (journey from Ceylon to England, Apr-May 1893), also includes journal for remainder of 1893 to Sep, including holiday in Northern Ireland, 23 Aug-16 Sep.
6832/6/9/ Writings -1891
6832/6/10/ WILLIAM LEWEN GLYN (1867-1888) 1880-1888
William Lewen Glyn was the fourth son of the Rev Sir George and Henrietta Glyn. He entered the Army and was posted to Malta in the 1st Battalion of the Dorsetshire Regiment. Whilst there he contracted meningitis and died (see Henrietta's diary for 1888 (-/6/8/41)).
6832/6/11/ DIARIES [?OF MISS MARY WILLIAMS, (1817-1902)] 1887-1902
These diaries record the movements of members of the Glyn family. They are unsigned but it is probable that they were kept by Miss Mary Williams (1817-1902) who was a devoted servant of the Glyns, as nurse and lady's maid, for many years. Entries are very brief, eg 'Her Ladyship went to London', or 'Mr and Mrs Deedes left'.
6832/6/12/ GERVAS POWELL GLYN (1862-1921) (1862)-1934
Gervas was the second child of the Rev George Glyn and Henrietta. He became baronet on the death of his half-brother, George Tubervill, in 1891. In 1898 he married Dorothy Hislop. Whilst at school at Winchester Gervas met Robert Morant (1863-1920) with whom he maintained a life-long friendship. Letters from Morant to Gervas have survived in which Morant describes his life as tutor in Siam [Thailand] in the 1880s (see -/6/12/3). Morant later joined the Board of Education and was one of the architects of the 1902 Education Act. He became Permanent Secretary to the Board of Education in 1903. He took a large part in the drafting of the National Insurance Act of 1913 and in 1919 became First Secretary of the Ministry of Health.
6832/6/13/ MARGARET HENRIETTA GLYN (1865-1946) 1881-1944
Margaret was the third child of the Rev George Lewen Glyn and Henrietta. Her interests included local history and affairs and much material has survived relating to her campaign opposing the proposed route of the Ewell by-pass. She was an accomplished musician and wrote six symphonies amongst other compositions. She had a close friendship with Leigh Vaughan Henry (1889-1958) and with him set up two companies to further the cause of Tudor and Celtic music. In her will Margaret left much of her estate to Leigh Henry, including her collection of antique musical instruments.
6832/6/13/ Personal, mostly relating to musical interests 1893-1935
6832/6/13/ Notebooks 1881-1903
6832/6/13/ Holiday diaries 1886-1910
Includes notebook containing diaries of holidays in 1886 (Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Belgium); 1887 (Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Belgium); 1888 (France, Germany) and 1889 (Austria, Italy, Riviera); diary of holiday in Grindelward and Interlaken, Switzerland, 1910
6832/6/13/ Glyn Foundation 1944
6832/6/13/ Margaret Glyn and the Ewell by-pass 1927-1934
In the late 1920s Surrey County Council proposed the construction of a by-pass for Ewell. The proposed route was through Hatch Furlong which had been bought by Margaret Glyn in 1911 to save it from development. She conveyed Hatch Furlong to the National Trust, hoping they would be successful in preventing the area from being used for the by- pass. When their efforts appeared to be unsuccessful, Margaret Glyn launched a campaign against the proposed route and championed an alternative route. Her campaign was not, in the end, successful and the by-pass opened following the original route in 1932. She did, however, gain the procurement of the Nonsuch Palace Banqueting House site as an open space for the parish of Ewell as compensation for the loss of Hatch Furlong.
6832/ Margaret Glyn 50th Anniversary Concert 1996
6832/6/14/ ARTHUR GLYN (1870-1942) 1898-1929
Arthur was the youngest child of the Rev Sir George Lewen Glyn and inherited the baronetcy on the death of his brother, Gervas, in 1921.
6832/6/15/ PAPERS RELATING TO LEWEN / GLYN FAMILY HISTORY [?1648]-1928
6832/6/16/ ALBUMS OF WATERCOLOURS BY VARIOUS MEMBERS OF THE GLYN FAMILY 1835-1890
The albums contain watercolour paintings on paper which have been mounted onto the pages of the volumes. They include:
watercolours of India, depicting scenery and villages, including Meerut and the River Jumma, c.1833. It also includes paintings of the Lake District, Yorkshire, Sussex and Surrey, dated 1846-1871 The Surrey paintings feature views near Guildford and Dorking, Ashtead church, The Durdans, Epsom, and Malden Rectory and church.The volume also includes two pen and ink drawings of the small golden Mosque at Gour, West Bengal, India, labelled 'C Creighton, April 1812';
watercolours apparently painted on 3 visits to Switzerland: 24 Jun-6 Sep 1853, 2 Aug-8 Sep 1855 and Jul 1861, and on a visit to Austria in 1857;
watercolours apparently painted on visits to Scotland and Northumberland, 3 Aug-17 Aug 1858, and to North Wales, 27 Jul-1 Sep 1859;
watercolours apparently painted in Switzerland in 1853 and 1855, and of various places in England (many not labelled), 1854-1859. The paintings of Switzerland are mostly of mountain, river and lake scenery but some of those of England are of buildings and towns;
watercolours of buildings and views in Ewell, Surrey, 1835-1890
6832/6/17/ OTHER ITEMS 1667-
The following items were found amongst the Glyn papers but have no obvious connection with the Glyn family.
6832/7/ PREVIOUS CATALOGUES OF GLYN PAPERS 2003