Parish records of Bulmer

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1589-1600, 1611-1633, 1656-1701, 1718-1846; register of marriages, 1572-1643, 1653-1701, 1718-1989; register of burials, 1571-1584, 1590-1600, 1653-1658, 1698-1699, 1718-1860; register of banns, 1824-1860; register of services, 1896-1989; records concerning benefice income, including tithe papers, 1929-1930, and order for land exchange, 1876; charity records, including papers relating to Peacock Trust, 1964-2003; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1938-1951; records of incumbents, including Bulmer family chronicle, 1050-1936 (written 1936), deanery magazine,1937, 1940-1942; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1921-1986, accounts, 1954-2000, cash receipt and expenditure books, 1964-1989, and magazines, 1924-1926, 1935; visitors’ books, 1953-1994.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Bulmer was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the present church building, dedicated to St Martin, is believed to pre-date the Norman Conquest. The advowson of the church followed the descent of the manor of Bulmer, belonging first to the Bulmers of Wilton, and then to the Hassell and Laybourne families. In the eighteenth century it passed to the Wentworth family, headed by the Marquis of Rockingham, and in the nineteenth century to the Earls of Carlisle.

St Martin’s Church was re-dedicated in 1287 and expanded in the fifteenth and eighteenth centuries. The chancel and East and South walls were rebuilt in 1898. The church includes a window created by stained glass designer J. W. Knowles.

The parish historically included the townships of Bulmer, Henderskelfe and Welburn, as well as the Castle Howard estate. A ‘Chapel of Our Lady at Welburn’ was mentioned in the sixteenth century but appears to have fallen into disuse by the beginning of the seventeenth. A chapel of ease, dedicated to St John the Evangelist, was built at Welburn c.1859 by the 7th Earl of Carlisle. It was consecrated in 1865 and became independent of Bulmer in the 1980s. Castle Howard also has a private chapel which is part of Bulmer parish.

Since 1986 Bulmer parish has been part of the Howardian Group benefice together with the parishes of Dalby, Huttons Ambo, Terrington and Welburn.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1965 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1986 and 2004.

Note

The existence of a church at Bulmer was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the present church building, dedicated to St Martin, is believed to pre-date the Norman Conquest. The advowson of the church followed the descent of the manor of Bulmer, belonging first to the Bulmers of Wilton, and then to the Hassell and Laybourne families. In the eighteenth century it passed to the Wentworth family, headed by the Marquis of Rockingham, and in the nineteenth century to the Earls of Carlisle.

St Martin’s Church was re-dedicated in 1287 and expanded in the fifteenth and eighteenth centuries. The chancel and East and South walls were rebuilt in 1898. The church includes a window created by stained glass designer J. W. Knowles.

The parish historically included the townships of Bulmer, Henderskelfe and Welburn, as well as the Castle Howard estate. A ‘Chapel of Our Lady at Welburn’ was mentioned in the sixteenth century but appears to have fallen into disuse by the beginning of the seventeenth. A chapel of ease, dedicated to St John the Evangelist, was built at Welburn c.1859 by the 7th Earl of Carlisle. It was consecrated in 1865 and became independent of Bulmer in the 1980s. Castle Howard also has a private chapel which is part of Bulmer parish.

Since 1986 Bulmer parish has been part of the Howardian Group benefice together with the parishes of Dalby, Huttons Ambo, Terrington and Welburn.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2004.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1589-1846, marriages, 1572-1975, burials, 1571-1860, and banns, 1824-1860, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 657, 1596, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193