Parish records of Hambleton with Gateforth

Scope and Content

Includes register of marriages at Hambleton, 1917-1996; register of marriages at Gateforth, 1921-1945; register of banns, 1915-1958; register of services at Hambleton, 1915-1995; register of services at Gateforth, 1914-1927, 1938-1976; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1916-1943, and fabric papers, 1938-1982; records concerning benefice income, including vicarage correspondence and papers, 1937-1956, and correspondence, 1923, 1948; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1920-1981, accounts, 1951-1970, and reports and accounts, 1997-1999; papers concerning the establishment and demolition of Gateforth Church, 1881-1981.

Administrative / Biographical History

Hambleton was a chapel of ease and Gateforth a perpetual curacy within the parish of Brayton, both subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of Selby until the nineteenth century. A church, dedicated to St Mary, was built at Gateforth in 1825, at the expense of Humphrey Osbaldeston. A church was also built at Hambleton, also dedicated to St Mary, in 1881 and consecrated the following year.

Hambleton and Gateforth remained part of the parish of Brayton until 1914 when the district chapelry of Gateforth cum Hambleton was created. In 1915 St Mary’s Church, Hambleton, was substituted as parish church in place of St Mary’s, Gateforth. The church at Gateforth was demolished in 1948.

In 1960 the parish of Hambleton with Gateforth became part of the benefice of Monk Fryston and Hambleton and in 1984 it joined the new benefice of Haddlesey, Hambleton and Birkin.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1985 by the incumbent. A further addition was made to the archive in 2008.

Note

Hambleton was a chapel of ease and Gateforth a perpetual curacy within the parish of Brayton, both subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of Selby until the nineteenth century. A church, dedicated to St Mary, was built at Gateforth in 1825, at the expense of Humphrey Osbaldeston. A church was also built at Hambleton, also dedicated to St Mary, in 1881 and consecrated the following year.

Hambleton and Gateforth remained part of the parish of Brayton until 1914 when the district chapelry of Gateforth cum Hambleton was created. In 1915 St Mary’s Church, Hambleton, was substituted as parish church in place of St Mary’s, Gateforth. The church at Gateforth was demolished in 1948.

In 1960 the parish of Hambleton with Gateforth became part of the benefice of Monk Fryston and Hambleton and in 1984 it joined the new benefice of Haddlesey, Hambleton and Birkin.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2008.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of marriages, 1917-1945, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 693).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 19.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193