Records of Dr Tulloch's Academy, Aberdeen.

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

School admissions register, 9 Aug. 1852 - 6 Jan. 1873, and list of pupils, 1843. Occasional marginal entries record date and place of death, and other biographical information about former pupils. Enclosures include "Order of Merit at Mr Tulloch's School", 1835 - 1838, and a newspaper cutting from the Aberdeen Journal, d. 21 Apr 1910, which provides a short history of the school, and a list of notable former pupils.

Administrative / Biographical History

George Tulloch was born in the small village of Ulbster, in the parish of Wick, on 1 March 1796. His father, a minister of the Church of Scotland, was closely related to the Earls of Caithness, and his mother's family were connected with the old Earls of Sutherland. He matriculated at Kings College, Aberdeen, in 1814, and graduated MA in 1830. Between 1814 and 1830 he studied divinity and medicine in Edinburgh and Aberdeen. He held the post of Murray Lecturer at King's College, Aberdeen in 1829, 1830 and 1834, but after failing to secure a permanent appointment at the College, opened his own day school for boys in the city in 1835. He married Mlle Sophie Berlair around this time (c. 1835), and died in Aberdeen on 29 Apr 1873.

George Tulloch's first school was situated on the corner of Dee Street and Bon Accord Lane, Aberdeen, and was known locally as Dr Tulloch's Academy or Geordie's. He built a new school called "The Academy" some years later, which accommodated 80 day pupils, and purchased a property called Bellvue, in the Ferryhill district of the city, for 40 boarders. Both schools closed after George Tulloch's death in 1873. Pupils at Bellvue were subsequently transferred to W. G. Walker's Academy on Union Street. (see Related Units of Description, below).

Arrangement

Single item

Conditions Governing Access

Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet

Acquisition Information

Not recorded, probably some time after 1910

Other Finding Aids

Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online http://www.abdn.ac.uk/diss/library/

Alternative Form Available

No copies known

Conditions Governing Use

Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.

Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: speclib@abdn.ac.uk ) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures

Accruals

No accruals expected

Related Material

Records of W.G. Walker's Academy, 1873 - 1886 (GB 231 AU MS 562).

Bibliography

No known publications using this material.

Additional Information

This material is original

Geographical Names