Sketty Ecclesiastical Parish Records

Scope and Content

Registers (including service and banns registers) 1850-1993; faculties and papers relating to church buildings 1878-1988; Vestry minutes 1876-1920; charity papers 1895; Churchwardens' accounts and other accounts 1853-1989; PCC minutes 1914-1988; parish magazines 1959-1996; correspondence files and memorabilia 1850-1986; church organizations 1911-1993; photographs 1869-1991; church history 2000.

Administrative / Biographical History

Dedicated to St Paul. Opened 1850 as a daughter church to St Mary's and formed into a parish in 1851. Includes Holy Trinity, Sketty Park, opened 1969, and (to 1966) All Souls, Tycoch/Carnglas, opened 1957.


Ecclesiastical records are arranged into Incumbent's records, PCC records, Churchwardens' records and church affairs.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ecclesiastical Parishes, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.


Accruals are possible

Geographical Names