Ten of Iris Murdoch's Novels previously owned by AS Byatt

Scope and Content

Ten of Iris Murdoch's books, previously owned by AS Byatt and with some annotations by Byatt inside. Includes:

  • 1) The Unicorn (1961) uncorrected proof
  • 2) Nuns and Soldiers (1980)
  • 3) The Time of the Angels (1966) first edition
  • 4) A Fairly Honourable Defeat (1970)
  • 5) The Nice and the Good (1968)
  • 6) The Black Prince (1973)
  • 7) The Unofficial Rose (1962)
  • 8) The Italian Girl (1964) Proof Copy
  • 9) A Severed Head (1961)
  • 10) The Sandcastle (1956)

Administrative / Biographical History

Iris Murdoch was born Jean Iris Murdoch in Dublin, Ireland on 15 Jul 1919. When she was very young Iris and her parents moved to London, England, and Iris studied at Frobel and Badminton schools. She followed this with studies in classics, ancient history and philosophy at the University of Oxford, and after the Second World War she undertook further study at the University of Cambridge. During the war years Murdoch worked for the Treasury in London, and then joined the UNRRA providing relief in formerly occupied countries in Europe. In 1948 she became a fellow of St Anne's College, Oxford, where she taught and researched philosophy.

Iris Murdoch wrote a number of tracts on philosophy, however it is for her novels that she is best known. She wrote 26 novels in total, her first being Under the Net published in 1954. Other notable works include The Bell and The Sea, The Sea for which she won the Booker Prize . Her last novel, Jackson's Dilemma was published in 1995.

In her youth Murdoch had relationships with a number of individuals, including Elias Canetti. She met author and scholar John Bayley while working at Oxford, and they married in 1956. She wrote to a great number of people and maintained friendships in this way.

Later in life Murdoch was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease, the first effects of which she had attributed to writer's block. She died in 1999.

Dame Antonia Susan Duffy, better known by her pen name AS Byatt, is a Booker Prize winning author and poet. Her most famous work is Possession. She has also written critical studies on the work of Iris Murdoch.

Access Information

Open to researchers by appointment- please email archives@kingston.ac.uk. Appointments typically offered Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday 9am - 4.30pm. For more information on Kingston University Archives and Special Collections please see our website at http://blogs.kingston.ac.uk/asc

Other Finding Aids

Also see our archives catalogue here

Conditions Governing Use

Some items in the collection can not be copied from due to their physical condition or copyright law. Please send all copying enquiries to the Archive at archives@kingston.ac.uk