A volume illustrated with shields of arms placed in the Clothworkers' Hall in glass, 1840, and a list of members who have filled the office of Lord Mayor. The paper manuscript is in one hand, with the painted shields in many colours. Some printed shields are inserted.
Shields in Clothworkers' Hall
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 103 MS ADD 207
- Dates of Creation1846
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Clothworkers' Company is one of the livery companies of the City of London - associations which once controlled the craft or trade indicated by their name. In the order of precedence settled under Henry VIII in the 16th century, the Clothworkers are twelfth among the first 'twelve great' companies. The present Clothworkers' Hall, which replaced the earlier hall destroyed in 1941, is at Dunster Court, Mincing Lane, London. The Company received its first Royal Charter in 1528.
This volume seems to have been compiled by Samuel Gregory. Gregory was born in 1802, became an attorney in 1826, and was admitted freeman of the Clothworkers' Company in 1827, later becoming a liveryman in 1833. Gregory died in Islington in 1858.
The papers are available subject to the usual conditions of access to Archives and Manuscripts material, after the completion of a Reader's Undertaking.
From the Ward Library.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal copyright restrictions apply.