The Book of the Bazaar, Kinnaird Hall, Dundee, 1901, including history of the Masonic Lodge, and concerning individuals, fashion, poems and stories.
Camperdown Masonic Lodge
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Camperdown Masonic Lodge, No. 317, was formed at a meeting held in Dundee on 16 October 1825. The lodge was authorised in February 1826. There are no references in the records as to why the name Camperdown Masonic Lodge was adopted although the Right Honourable Robert Duncan, Viscount Camperdown and Baron Duncan of Lundie was elected a member in 1826, and on 11 October 1826 the Lodge celebrated the anniversary of the Battle of Camperdown. Between 1826 and 1828 the Lodge members met in the houses of its office bearers. In 1828 the Lodge purchased Thistle Operatives Hall in Burial Wynd (now known as Camperdown Hall, Barrack Street, Dundee), to accommodate the Lodge. In 1879, due to financial difficulties the Lodge vacated the Hall in order to lease it. In 1896 they returned to Camperdown Hall. In 1901 a Bazaar was held by the Lodge in Kinnaird Hall, Dundee, in order to promote the spirit of free masonry and to raise money for clearing debt and starting a benevolent fund.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
Compiled by Jenny Cutts, Scottish Archive Network project and Caroline Brown, Dundee University Archives.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list available at Dundee University Archives. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.