Financial Records 1942-1947; Correspondence and Papers 1923-1948
South Wales and Monmouthshire Colliery Winding Enginemen's Association and Provident Trade Union
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The South Wales and Monmouthshire Colliery Winding Enginemen's Association (SWMCWEA) and Provident Trade Union had a registered office at 74 Trehafod Road, Trehafod, Glamorgan. The Union had branches at most of the major coalmining towns in the south wales coalfield. No branch of the Union was allowed to have a representative on the General Executive Council unless they had a membership of over fifty. However, the society did have an agent (also the General Secretary) who was required to attend all inquests which affected members or upon the request of society members.
In August 1947, proposals were made to merge the Association into the South Wales Area of the National Union of Miners. These included transference of membership to the NUM on a pit basis and a requirement that all NUM lodges had to co-opt a Winding Enginemen onto their Lodge Committee. The merger was successful and the Winding Enginemen officially became part of the NUM (South Wales Area) in 1948.
Source: Rules of the South Wales and Monmouthshire Colliery Winding Enginemen's Association and Provident Trade Union , 1 July 1930, MNA/TUG/4/5 ; Merger Agreement between the South Wales and Monmouthshire Colliery Winding Enginemen's Association and Provident Trade Union and the NUM (South Wales Area), August 1947, MNA/TUG/4/7; Hywel Francis and David Smith, The Fed : a history of the South Wales miners in the twentieth century (London, 1980), p. 426
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.