Society records of the Methodist Church, Rufforth Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Trustees' minute book, 1875-1976; Society Steward's account book, 1843-1899; account of subscriptions for chapel alterations, n.d.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

Methodism was active in Rufforth from the 18th century, as evidenced by the visit of John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, to the village in 1753, when he wrote of an 'earnest congregation' gathered to hear him preach. However it wasn't until 1843 that the local Methodist Society built a permanent chapel on Wetherby Road, on a site donated by Elizabeth Ellis. The opening sermon was preached by Reverend John Rattenbury of Manchester.

The chapel held a weekly Sunday School from 1860 and, following the restoration of the chapel in 1884, a schoolroom was added. The chapel was modernised in 1977, with the addition of a kitchen, toilets and central heating.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Rufforth joined the new York, Wesley Circuit in 1867. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, the Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits were merged and Rufforth continued as part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it joined York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 2013. A further addition was made to the archive in 2013.

Note

Methodism was active in Rufforth from the 18th century, as evidenced by the visit of John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, to the village in 1753, when he wrote of an 'earnest congregation' gathered to hear him preach. However it wasn't until 1843 that the local Methodist Society built a permanent chapel on Wetherby Road, on a site donated by Elizabeth Ellis. The opening sermon was preached by Reverend John Rattenbury of Manchester.

The chapel held a weekly Sunday School from 1860 and, following the restoration of the chapel in 1884, a schoolroom was added. The chapel was modernised in 1977, with the addition of a kitchen, toilets and central heating.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Rufforth joined the new York, Wesley Circuit in 1867. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, the Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits were merged and Rufforth continued as part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it joined York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received prior to 2013. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 30.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, Wesley Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and the York, Wesley and York, South Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The York Circuit records are part of: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1). The records of both York, Wesley Circuits form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York, Wesley Circuit (MRC/2).

Additional Information

Published

GB193