Parish records of Bugthorpe

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1662-1951; register of marriages, 1662-1753, 1758-1944; register of burials, 1662-1993; register of services, 1915-1963; communicants' register, 1918-1937; records concerning benefice income, including fee tables, 1832, 1916, 1936, extracts from enclosure award concerning tithes, 1779, correspondence in connection with augmentation of living, 1858-1868, Rufforth rent receipts, 1922-1928, returns of benefice income, 1929, 1948-1952, and correspondence, 1946-1951; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1916-1935, restoration papers, 1858, 1957-1959, fabric papers, 1927, 1950,1952, church visitors book, 1937-1970, and churchyard papers, 1919, 1943-1950; constables’ records, including notice to find a recruit, 19th century; records of incumbents, including dilapidations, 1950-1956, parsonage house papers, 1858-1868, 1915, 1925-1926, and statistical returns, 1956; overseers’ records, including settlement examinations, 1828, 1839, removal orders, 1819-1842, bastardy bonds, orders and examinations, 1777-1829, and inventory of pauper's goods, 1821; school records, including correspondence and papers 1928-1940; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1915-1935, and accounts, 1936-1957.

Administrative / Biographical History

Although no church is recorded at Bugthorpe in Domesday, a church was appropriated to the Prebend of Bugthorpe, and a vicarage ordained there, at an early date. The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of Bugthorpe until 1836. In 1838 the church lands and manor of Bugthorpe were sold by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners to Sir Francis Lindley Wood of Garrowby.

The present parish church, dedicated to St Andrew, dates to the twelfth century, with alterations made in the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries. The vicarage was augmented by John Gysburgh, Prebendary of Bugthorpe, in 1481. It was further augmented in1760 and 1804 through Queen Anne’s Bounty. The church was restored c.1858 and the vicarage house was rebuilt in 1865.

Historically the parish included Stockton on the Forest and there was a chapel there from at least the thirteenth century. Stockton on the Forest separated from Bugthorpe in the nineteenth century and was declared an independent rectory in 1867.

In 1966 the benefice of Bugthorpe was amalgamated with that of Kirby Underdale. In 1980 the two parishes joined with the amalgamated benefice of Bishop Wilton and Full Sutton, and today these four parishes, together with Skirpenbeck, comprise the united benefice of Garrowby Hill.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1955 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1982 and 1993.

Note

Although no church is recorded at Bugthorpe in Domesday, a church was appropriated to the Prebend of Bugthorpe, and a vicarage ordained there, at an early date. The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of Bugthorpe until 1836. In 1838 the church lands and manor of Bugthorpe were sold by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners to Sir Francis Lindley Wood of Garrowby.

The present parish church, dedicated to St Andrew, dates to the twelfth century, with alterations made in the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries. The vicarage was augmented by John Gysburgh, Prebendary of Bugthorpe, in 1481. It was further augmented in1760 and 1804 through Queen Anne’s Bounty. The church was restored c.1858 and the vicarage house was rebuilt in 1865.

Historically the parish included Stockton on the Forest and there was a chapel there from at least the thirteenth century. Stockton on the Forest separated from Bugthorpe in the nineteenth century and was declared an independent rectory in 1867.

In 1966 the benefice of Bugthorpe was amalgamated with that of Kirby Underdale. In 1980 the two parishes joined with the amalgamated benefice of Bishop Wilton and Full Sutton, and today these four parishes, together with Skirpenbeck, comprise the united benefice of Garrowby Hill.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1661-1951, marriages, 1661-1944, burials, 1661-1993, and banns, 1758-1823, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 656, 1596, 883, 1752, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193