The top image shows the entrance to the bridge from the Bangor side; the bottom image shows Stephenson driving the last rivet into place inside the tubular construction. Published in The Illustrated London News.
Colour print of the Opening of the Britannia Tubular Bridge
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The bridge was designed to provide a rail link betweeen Holyhead and the mainland. George Stephenson was appointed Chief Engineer and work on the bridge was completed in March 1850.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.