Society records of the Methodist Church, York, New Street Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1821-1920 (1910-1920 are Clifton Chapel baptisms); register of marriages, 1863-1907; Trustees’ meetings minute book, 1896-1908; Leaders’ meetings minute books, 1867-1908, weekly collections, 1818-1840, 1849-1884, and account book, 1849-1880; financial records, including seat rents book, 1884-1912, Society Steward’s account book, 1854-1881, Poor Steward’s account book, 1860-1903, and Foreign Missions cash book, 1895-1900; Charity Commission order and scheme for New Street Chapel, 1881; application to sell the chapel and related properties, 1904; Sunday School records, including committee minute book, 1889-1908, and school record and teachers’ meetings minute books, 1882-1908; an appreciation of the late Mr Edward Hill, n.d.

Administrative / Biographical History

York, New Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was opened in 1805. Designed to accommodate 1,500-2,000 people, the chapel included a schoolroom and a caretaker's house to the rear. In 1841 a large property behind the chapel was purchased for the minister's house and in 1880 an organ loft was added to the chapel.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it was made the head chapel of the new York, New Street Circuit in 1867. In 1909, the Circuit was renamed Clifton Circuit.

The chapel was closed in 1908, and was subsequently used by the Central Mission from 1908 to 1910 and later as a variety theatre. In 1920 it was remodelled and opened as the Tower Cinema.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

York, New Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was opened in 1805. Designed to accommodate 1,500-2,000 people, the chapel included a schoolroom and a caretaker's house to the rear. In 1841 a large property behind the chapel was purchased for the minister's house and in 1880 an organ loft was added to the chapel.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it was made the head chapel of the new York, New Street Circuit in 1867. In 1909, the Circuit was renamed Clifton Circuit.

The chapel was closed in 1908, and was subsequently used by the Central Mission from 1908 to 1910 and later as a variety theatre. In 1920 it was remodelled and opened as the Tower Cinema.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

Copies of the baptismal registers, 1821-1900, and the marriage registers, 1863-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 1784-1785).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion are deposited at the Borthwick Institute as a single archive (MRC/1).

Additional Information

Published

GB193