Friendly Society of Iron Founders of England, Ireland and Wales

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Executive minutes, 1860-1920; various reports series, 1839-1918; some local conference & branch records; a few files; rules, 1809-1917.

Administrative / Biographical History

The society was established as the Friendly Iron Moulders' Society in 1809. In 1837 it held its first delegate conference in Manchester and changed its title to the Friendly Society of Operative Iron Moulders of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. Around 1864 the name was changed again to the Friendly Society of Iron Founders of England, Ireland and Wales. In 1920 it amalgamated with the Amalgamated Society of Coremakers of Great Britain and Ireland and the Associated Iron Moulders of Scotland to form the National Union of Foundry Workers.

Reference: H.J. Fyrth and H. Collins, The foundry workers, a trade union history.Manchester, 1959.

Conditions Governing Access

Open.

Archivist's Note

The records have been listed as part of the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Foundry Section) archive. Authority files exist for the Friendly Society of Iron Founders of England, Ireland and Wales (GB 152 AAR564) and its predecessors, the Friendly Society of Operative Iron Moulders of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (GBR 0152 AAR565) and the Friendly Iron Moulders' Society (GBR 0152 AAR566).

Custodial History

The archive has been deposited in the Centre on indefinite loan by the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Foundry Section). The first deposit consisted of fifty shelf feet of records collected from the AUEW office in Manchester by Janet Druker on 24th April 1974. Accruals and related deposits are listed under the entry for the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Foundry Section) (MSS.41/AUEF) .