Papers presented to the House of Lords concerning the East India Company's status as a Joint Stock Company, Feb 1647, comprising a paper presented by the Company in defence of their trading as a Joint Stck Company, and a copy of the former endorsed by Alderman [John] Fowkes beginning 'Sixe arguments...to justify the pursuance of the trade to th'east Indies by one Joint Stock Onely'.
East India Company, 1647
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 260
- Dates of Creation1647
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description5 leaves
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The East India Company (formally called the Governor and Company of Merchants of London Trading into the East Indies (1600-1708) and the United Company of Merchants of England Trading to the East Indies (1708-1873)), was an English company formed for the exploitation of the spice trade in East and Southeast Asia and India. It was incorporated by Royal Charter in December 1600.
Access to this collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the supervised environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Bought from Sotheby's in 1947.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Sarah Aitchison as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Further material relating to the East India Company is held at the British Library (Oriental and India Office Collections and Manuscript Collections); the Public Record Office, Kew; The Guildhall Library, London; All Souls College, Oxford University; Tower Hamlets Local History Library and Archives; the Bodleian Library, Oxford University; and Exeter University Library.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.
The manuscript was originally in the hands of John Browne, Clerk of the Parliaments from 1638 to 1649 and 1660 to 1691. It later formed part of the collection of Alfred Thomas Townshend Wyatt-Edgell, afterwards Verney-Cave, 5th Baron Braye (d 1928).