Records of Milford Haven UDC, 1852-1987, comprising Clerk's Department records, 1852-1977, including council minutes, 1918-1974, committee minutes, 1891-1974, seal registers, 1890-1963, acts of parliament, byelaws, etc., 1857-1959, contracts, deeds and other papers relating to housing, supplies and utilities, 1858-1969, subject files, 1931-1977, reports, 1941-1971, registers, 1871-1971, Second World War records, 1940-1945, and maps and plans, 1852-1854, 1910-1972; Treasurer's Department records, 1858-1987, including ledgers, 1858-1860 (Improvement Commissioners), 1904-1966, accounts, 1936-1974, general and water rate books, 1914-1972, valuation lists, 1934-1987, and wages and salaries records, 1936-1961.
Milford Haven Urban District Council Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 MHU
- Dates of Creation1852-1987
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionTo be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Milford Haven Urban District Council (UDC), Pembrokeshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. The Council comprised councillors and a chairman and originally took over responsibilities from Milford Haven Improvement Commissioners. The Council's responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, housing, streets, cemeteries, libraries, parks, controls on buildings such as petrol stations, and licensing of public entertainments. From 1925 it also became a rating authority. UDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor, Rating Officer and Sanitary Inspector. The UDC inherited some records of the Milford Haven Improvement Commissioners, active in the 1850s. Milford Haven UDC was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation and was absorbed into Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council.
Arranged into the following: Clerk's Department; and Treasurer's Department.
Conditions Governing Access
Transferred from the Town Hall, Milford Haven, 1977-1979; deposited by the Solicitor's Department, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1986; deposited by R. Griffiths, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1988; and transferred from the Records Management Unit.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Milford Haven Urban District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Following abolition of the Council, many of its records passed to its successor bodies. MHU/SE/22/2 was withdrawn by the Curator of Milford Haven Museum, 1980.
Accruals are not expected