Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Monkgate Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of York Monkgate Methodist Chapel, comprising records of Trustees’, including minute books, 1896-1970, account book, 1885-1915, 1937-1946, 1949-1973, resignation forms and related papers, n.d.; Leaders’ minute book, 1912-1971; church account book, 1938-1971; property records, including accounts and receipts for property in Monkgate, 1885-1886, 1903-1912; fabric papers, including correspondence and accounts relating to war damage, 1941-1950, letter and estimate for redecoration, 1919; Sunday School records, including minute book of school council, 1947-1959, minute book of teachers’ meetings, 1929-1947, account book, 1957-1971, summary book on attendance and number of scholars and teachers, 1939-1952, 1959-1963, registers of attendance, 1958-1965, 1969-1971, and graph showing average attendance, 1959-1966; Monkgate Women's Bright Hour minute book, 1940-1985 (Women's Fellowship from 1946); Jubilee celebration handbook, 1903-1953; bazaar booklets, 1903, 1933; and list of ministers at Monkgate, 1903-1989.

Records of Trinity Methodist Church, comprising minutes of Trustees’ meetings, 1970-1976; minutes of Trinity Church Council meetings, 1971-2010; minutes of general church meetings, 1973-2001; financial records, including Trinity Society account book, 1971-1976, Trinity Church accounts, 1973-2007, weekly collection sheets and summaries, 1988-2006, papers relating to the Sailing in Faith Fund, 1995-2003, and Trinity Choir accounts, 1972-1978, 1980-1999; property records, including property committee minutes, 1976-1981, correspondence, 1988-2001, and papers relating to sale of rear premises, c.1999-2004; fabric papers, including plans and correspondence concerning proposed alteration works, 1999-2000; Sunday School records, including income and expenditure book, 1972-1990, and yearly assessment account book, 1972-1990.

Administrative / Biographical History

York, Monkgate Primitive Methodist Chapel opened in 1903. It replaced Ebenezer Chapel on Little Stonegate, which had been the principal Primitive Methodist chapel in the city, but by the 1880s had become inadequate for the needs of the growing congregation. Its trustees agreed to buy property in Monkgate for a new chapel, but building work was delayed until the debt owed for Ebenezer Chapel was paid off and the old chapel sold.

The site of the new chapel was chosen, in part, for its proximity to Elmfield College, a Primitive Methodist college on the outskirts of Heworth, and later became known as John Petty Memorial Chapel in memory of the college's first governor. Designed by Frederick Whittaker Dixon of Manchester, it could accommodate 775 people and included school rooms at the rear of the building, comprised of a lecture room, infants' room and assembly hall.

Originally part of the York First (Monkgate) Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, following the unification of the Wesleyan, Primitive and United Methodists in 1932 the chapel became part of the York, Monkgate Circuit of a now unified Methodist Connexion. In 1957 it joined the York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit).

The chapel closed in 1973.

In 1973 Groves Chapel and Monkgate Chapel, York, joined together to form the new Trinity Methodist Church. The new church was based at the Monkgate chapel, which was renamed Trinity Chapel.

Trinity Church was part of York, North Circuit of the Methodist Connexion until 2012 when it joined the single York Circuit.

As of 2016 it remains in use.

Arrangement

The archive incorporates the records of Monkgate Primitive Methodist Chapel (1903-c 1932); Monkgate Methodist Chapel (c.1932-1973); and its successor Trinity Methodist Church (1973-), which occupies the same building.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1994. Further additions were made to the archive in 1994 and 2016.

Note

York, Monkgate Primitive Methodist Chapel opened in 1903. It replaced Ebenezer Chapel on Little Stonegate, which had been the principal Primitive Methodist chapel in the city, but by the 1880s had become inadequate for the needs of the growing congregation. Its trustees agreed to buy property in Monkgate for a new chapel, but building work was delayed until the debt owed for Ebenezer Chapel was paid off and the old chapel sold.

The site of the new chapel was chosen, in part, for its proximity to Elmfield College, a Primitive Methodist college on the outskirts of Heworth, and later became known as John Petty Memorial Chapel in memory of the college's first governor. Designed by Frederick Whittaker Dixon of Manchester, it could accommodate 775 people and included school rooms at the rear of the building, comprised of a lecture room, infants' room and assembly hall.

Originally part of the York First (Monkgate) Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, following the unification of the Wesleyan, Primitive and United Methodists in 1932 the chapel became part of the York, Monkgate Circuit of a now unified Methodist Connexion. In 1957 it joined the York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit).

The chapel closed in 1973.

In 1973 Groves Chapel and Monkgate Chapel, York, joined together to form the new Trinity Methodist Church. The new church was based at the Monkgate chapel, which was renamed Trinity Chapel.

Trinity Church was part of York, North Circuit of the Methodist Connexion until 2012 when it joined the single York Circuit.

As of 2016 it remains in use.

Other Finding Aids

A partial typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1994. Later material has not yet been listed, although a summary of its contents can be seen in the above scope and contents.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 14.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York First (Monkgate) Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, and the York, Monkgate, and York, North (originally named York, Clifton & Monkgate) Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The first two form a single archive: Records of the Methodist Church, York (Monkgate) Circuit. The records of York, North Circuit are part of the records of York (New Street) Circuit.

Additional Information

Published

GB193