Advisory Committee for the Training of Teachers of the Deaf Minutes

Scope and Content

The Committee was established in 1919 to oversee the University's newly-created department for the education of the deaf. The department was the result of a major benefaction by a local businessman, Sir James Jones, in memory of his son, Ellis Llywd Jones. Jones' money also helped set up Ellis Llwyd Jones Hall, intended primarily for student teachers of the deaf. The Committee (a joint committee of Senate and Council) supervised the work of the Department for the Education of the Deaf (later known as audiology). Its members included representatives of the Faculty of Education (which the Department later formed part of), the donor, and members of national and local deaf education schools and related organizations.

Related Material

See also the file in the Vice-Chancellor's Archive, VCA/7/196 for the administration of the department for the education of deaf.