Comprises of registers of baptism, banns, marriages and burials; service registers; churchwardens records relating to the church fabric; vestry/parochial church council records; records of overseers of the poor and statutory deposit (tithe) records.
St George Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CEP22
- Dates of Creation1694-1971
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description6 boxes, 10 outsize rolls, 1 outsize box and 1 outsize folder
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The parish of St George was formerly known as Kegidog, or Cegidog. The name, St. George, is generally believed to have been derived from Saint Siôr - not to be confused with St. George of England. The ancient parish comprised the townships of Cegidog Uchaf, Cegidog Isaf, Dinorben, and Meifod. In 1873, part of the township of Cegidog Isaf went to the new parish of Towyn.
There has been a church at St. George for many centuries - the church was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. The present church was built in 1893.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by Denbighshire Record Office in 1977 and 1978. Transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009. CEP22/4/1 was transferred to the Clwyd Record Office (now Denbighshire) from the Gwynedd Record Office (now Caernarfonshire) in 1981. CEP22/6/1-4 were transferred to the Conwy Archive Service direct from the parish.