Upper Chirk/Ceiriog Petty Sessional Division, records of

Scope and Content

Petty Sessions began at the beginning of the 18th century as extra meetings to lessen the burden on Justices of the Peace in Quarter Sessions. The normal practice was to subdivide a shire into geographical divisions with each magistrate being assigned to a particular division. The Sessions were held twice monthly in each division as opposed to the Quarter Sessions, which were held every three months.

The Petty Sessions dealt mainly with minor cases such as drunkenness, assaults, larceny, trespassing, fraud and juvenile cases, as well as ale licensing and adoption. They required the presence of two Justices of the Peace but no jury.

Upper Chirk/Ceiriog Petty Sessions Division covered the areas of Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog; Glyntraian; Llangadwaladr; Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog; Llansilin; Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant; Llangedwyn.

This collection includes: minute books, juvenile court registers and registers of convictions.

Note: for other records, see the catalogue of records deposited y the Clerk to the Magistrates, Bodhyfryd, Wrexham in 1991 (AN 1926)

For court registers 1941-74, see catalogue of Llangollen division records PSD/G/2/1-5.


Petty Session records are arranged as follows-

Minutes; Court Registers; Juvenile Court Registers; Accounts; Registers of Licences; Register of habitual drunkards; Register of clubs; Miscellaneous Registers and Miscellaneous.

Access Information

100 year closure period.