Scope and Content

Comprising: register of baptisms 1909-1970; register of marriages 1958-1970; minutes 1947-1971; centenary and jubilee celebrations handbook 1957; other records 1901-1970

Administrative / Biographical History

A Primitive Methodist Society was established in 1822 at Glew's Yard, and later a new chapel built on South Parade in 1857. A new church was built in 1907 and named the Centenary Church to celebrate one hundred years of Primitive Methodism. In early years it formed part of the Crowle Circuit, then of the Epworth and Crowle Circuit and then in 1948 of the Highfield Road Doncaster Circuit. In 1950 it became part of the North east Circuit. The Society joined with that of Trinity (King Street) in 1969 and the Trust was dissolved in 1971.

Access Information



Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries

Custodial History

The marriage register in this collection (NM48/2/1/2) was transferred to Doncaster Archives from Sheffield Archives in 2009, where it was held under the reference SY139/N35/1).