This collection consists of ledgers, wool books, cashbooks, sales books, order books, weaving books and wages records of the Ceiriog Valley Woollen Mills. Ledgers show names of companies with which the mill traded, prices of wool, flannel and transport costs. Wool books include consignment details with date of purchase, quality, weight and amount of foreign wool.
Records of the Ceiriog Valley Woollen Mills
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Ceiriog Valley Woollen Mills, Glyn Ceiriog, Denbighshire, a woollen manufacturing business producing Welsh wool and flannel, was managed by Thomas Foulkes for over thirty years until his death in 1929. After his death his executors managed the mill (composed of the Upper Mill and Berwyn Mill) until March 31, 1931 when they were taken over by three mill employees and later by a company under the directorship of Lord Howard de Walden, Professor J. Share Jones and another person. This company was wound up after five years and the mills were then taken over by W.A. Denison of Holywell, Flintshire. Berwyn Mill, however, ceased working after the great flood of 1941 which washed the weir away, and in January 1946 the Upper Mill was sold to the tenant of the holding on which it stood.
Material was received on separate occasions, arranged according to record type, in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Presented to the University by A.D. Foulkes of Shrewsbury, brother of Thomas Foulkes.
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, November 2001
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 4182, 6423-6448, 7032-7034
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.