Royal Colonial Institute Freemasonry Collection

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 115 RCS/RCMS 390
  • Dates of Creation
      1917-1956
  • Language of Material
      English .
  • Physical Description
      1 archive box(es) 1 box paper

Scope and Content

A collection of books, pamphlets and ephemera relating to Freemasonry.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1912 a masonic lodge was formed at the Royal Colonial Institute 'for the purpose of enhancing the ties of Empire and Craft and as an additional bond between the Resident and Non-Resident Fellows and Members'. It was consecrated in the Grand Temple at Freemason's Hall on 10 January 1912, when Lord Ampthill, the pro-grand master of English masonry, was the principal officiant. The lodge was called the Royal Colonial Institute Lodge. Its first master was the grand master, the Duke of Connaught, Governor-General of Canada and a former president of the RCI (1910-12). The numbers of freemasons at the society increased steadily, and by 1924 a United Empire Lodge, a Mark Lodge, a Royal Arch and Rose Croix Chapters had also been established.

Access Information

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Other Finding Aids

A catalogue of the collection can be found on ArchiveSearch.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

good condition

Additional Information

This collection level description was created by MJC.