Minute Books, visitor books, admission books, attendance books, log books, examination schedules, register of girls work and notes on the history of Lancashire and Liverpool
Records of the Liverpool Welsh Charity School
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 141 D15
- Dates of Creation1804-1887
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialThe bulk of the material in this collection is in English although some of the notes of Professor Twemlow are in Latin
- Physical Descriptionc. 5 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Liverpool Welsh Charity School was established in 1804 in Russell Street and seems to have continued there until eventually absorbed (prior to 1870) in the Hibernian School, Pleasant Street.
Arranged into the following sections:
- D15/1 Records of the Liverpool Welsh Charity School
- D15/2 Religious Notes etc. [of Mathew Gregson d.1876]
- D15/3 Notes on the History of Lancashire anbd Liverpool [taken by Professor Twemlow]
Conditions Governing Access
Access is open to bona fide researchers.
All found in the Strong room, Ashton Building amongst the University's archives and records in 1968 and deposited with the University Archives.
Other Finding Aids
A finding aid is available in the reading room in the folder "Deposited Records Outside Bodies".
Alternative Form Available
Microfilm copies of these records of the Welsh Charity School were made in 1969 by the Central University Photographic Service. The microfilms have the reference number D16 and include copies of the following records:
- Directors' Minute Books, 1804-16 (negative and positive)
- "Class of Merit Book" 1810-30 (negative and positive)
- Register of Girls' work 1823-48 (negative and positive, positive missing)
- Attendance Register 1842-43 (negative and positive)
- Log Book, 1870-87 (negative and positive)
- Log Book 1882-1906 of the Primitive Methodist Day School, Holt Road, Tranmere (negative and positive). Original in private (unkown) hands.
Encoded into EAD 2002 by Roy Lumb using Xemacs Open Source Text Editor in March 2008.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction and licensing rules available on request
It is presumed that all of these records at one time belonged to the School of Local History.