Draft minutes of the weekly meetings of the proprietors of Anderson, New and Co., held at the Compting House, Redcross St., Bristol, from 2 Jul 1798 to 11 Mar 1799. The proprietors were James New junior, Samuel New junior, Francis Bull, S. James, William Walker and Charles Anderson. The drafts record their decisions in some detail, concerning the purchase of land at Netham Mill and Blacksworth, the building of warehouses, and the purchase of raw material and machinery. At the foot of each sheet is written 'Ent[ere]d', followed usually by the initials 'J.N.'
Anderson, New and Co
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 725
- Dates of Creation1798-1799
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description37 items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
See J. Day, Bristol brass: the history of the industry (Newton Abbot, 1973).
Conditions Governing Access
Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Access to archive collections may be restricted under the Freedom of Information Act. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Bought from E. Hall in 1967. Formerly with MS.712.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Compiled by Sarah Aitchison as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.