These are the papers of The Mothers' Hospital, 1908-1986.
The Mothers' Hospital was a Salvation Army Maternity Hospital at 153-163 Lower Clapton Road, Clapton E5. It was opened on 18 October 1913, replacing an earlier Salvation Army hospital at Ivy House 271 Mare Street, Hackney E8, which had been opened in 1884. The Mothers' Hospital also trained midwives and administered District Maternity Posts in surrounding areas.
As records after 1948 are hospital records and therefore public records, the majority of surviving records for the Mothers' Hospital are deposited at St Bartholomew's Hospital Archives in East London. (These records have been catalogued and are available to researchers.)
The remaining records here were not kept in any original order, so they have been grouped into a logical structure. Many of the items in the collection have been closed due to personal and sensitive information under the Data Protection Act.
The arrangement of the records is as follows:
MH/3 Reports and Papers
MH/4 Midwives' District Registers
MH/5 Dedication Register