Parish records of Nether Poppleton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1640-1970 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1804); register of marriages, 1640-1996; register of burials, 1640-1953 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1824-1989; register of services, 1919-1988; charity records, including title deeds to poor's lands, 1733-1772, survey of poor's estate, 18th century, and correspondence, 1959-1960; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1805-1915, fabric papers, 1842, 1887-1888, 1923-1959, and churchyard papers, 1925; records of incumbents, including parish history, c.1916, and loans for parsonage house improvements, 1926-1936, 1951; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1756-1776, poor house building accounts, 1772, settlement certificates, 1749-1772, removal orders, 1776-1778, bastardy bonds 1755-1776, 1793-1795, and apprenticeship indentures, 1778; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including accounts and a list of charges and conditions for use of church hall, 1930-1950, and church hall account book, 1948-1979; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1916-1987, electoral roll, 1947-1971, account books, 1967-1984, 1991-1996, and enclosure award, 1775; photographs of the church, 1962, 1972.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Nether Poppleton from at least the eleventh century. It was appropriated to St Mary’s Abbey, York, at its foundation in 1088 and the Abbey held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown and then to the Archbishop of York. It is not known when a vicarage was ordained there but it was described as such by the seventeenth century. The living was augmented in 1829.

The present parish church dates to the twelfth century. It is dedicated to the seventh century Saxon saint Everilda, who is believed to have led a monastic community at either Everingham or Nether Poppleton. The church was restored in the nineteenth century and in 1939 a new altar was installed, carved by Robert ‘the Mouseman’ Thompson of Kilburn. In 2015 an extension was added to house new kitchen and storage facilities.

In 1866 Upper Poppleton chapelry separated from Copmanthorpe parish to join that of Nether Poppleton. Today Nether Poppleton is part of the united parish and benefice of Nether with Upper Poppleton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1997 and 2003.

Note

There was a church at Nether Poppleton from at least the eleventh century. It was appropriated to St Mary’s Abbey, York, at its foundation in 1088 and the Abbey held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown and then to the Archbishop of York. It is not known when a vicarage was ordained there but it was described as such by the seventeenth century. The living was augmented in 1829.

The present parish church dates to the twelfth century. It is dedicated to the seventh century Saxon saint Everilda, who is believed to have led a monastic community at either Everingham or Nether Poppleton. The church was restored in the nineteenth century and in 1939 a new altar was installed, carved by Robert ‘the Mouseman’ Thompson of Kilburn. In 2015 an extension was added to house new kitchen and storage facilities.

In 1866 Upper Poppleton chapelry separated from Copmanthorpe parish to join that of Nether Poppleton. Today Nether Poppleton is part of the united parish and benefice of Nether with Upper Poppleton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2003.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1640-1970, marriages, 1640-1978, burials, 1640-1953, and banns, 1849-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 753, 1760).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Poppleton and Upper Poppleton are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193