Accounts, 1780-1850; correspondence, 1841-1851; papers relating to estate inheritance, 1780-1830; bonds, 1780-1804; deeds and leases, 1780-1875; mineral leases, 1722-1875; reports, correspondence and financial papers relating to industrial concerns; 1832-1857; original finding aids and schedules, 1878; plans n.d., [18th-19th centuries]
Ynyspenllwch Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Miers' family moved into the Glamorgan area first to Neath c. 1736 and then leased Vernon House in c. 1760. The first John Miers is cited as being of Cannon Street, London, Mitcham, Surrey, and of New Barnstable Hall. They settled at Cadoxton Lodge, Glamorgan, with his son Nathaniel inheriting the estate following the death of John Miers. His early death resulted in the estate passing via his brother John to Nathaniel's son John Nathaniel. The Miers' estate centred mainly in Ynyspenllwch and occupied a compact area situated in the parish of Llangyfelach, Glamorgan. The Ynyspenllwch estate originally formed part of the Gnoll estate, Neath, Glamorgan, before passing into the hands of the Miers family. Molly Ann (daughter of John Nathaniel Miers or Nathaniel Miers) married Robert Humphrey Mackworth of Gnoll and inherited the estate on his death. Shortly after, the estate was purchased by the executors of John Miers the younger [c.1799-1800]. The connections with the Gnoll estate continued, however, with the brothers Richard H. Miers of Ynyspenllwch and Capel Miers of Drumma both acting as Gnoll estate agents.
Arranged into accounts, correspondence, estate inheritance papers, deeds and leases, industrial papers, original finding aids and plans.
Source not recorded.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley for the ANW project.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the Neath Mechanics' Institute.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.