2 folders containing photographs, book catalogues, newspaper cuttings, manuscript notes and typescript articles.
Sherratt & Hughes Collection
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Sherratt and Joseph David Hughes opened a bookshop at the corner of St. Ann Street and Half Moon Street in Manchester in 1896. Sherratt looked after the printing and publishing side of the business, whilst Hughes concentrated on selling new and antiquarian books. In 1905 the shop moved to the adjoining premises on the corner of Cross Street and St. Ann Street, greatly increasing its size.
Sherratt & Hughes served as publishers to the University of Manchester until 1912, when the University published on its own account. Most of the administration of the publishing side of the business was conducted in Cross Street until the late 1920s, when new and larger premises were found in Altrincham, co Ches. These became known as the St. Ann's Press and from then on operated separately.
Sherratt & Hughes was taken over by W. H. Smith in 1946. On 1st Apr 1992 Sherratt & Hughes changed its name to Waterstones. The shop closed in Sep 1996.
There are no restrictions on access to this collection. Viewing is by prior appointment. Please contact email@example.com.
Deposited in Chetham's Library by Olga Shipperbottom in Apr 2005 (gift). Mrs Shipperbottom worked for Sherratt & Hughes from 19[?]-1996.