Queen Edith Chapel Collection

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 QEC
  • Dates of Creation
  • Name of Creator
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      74 items
  • Location
      Collection available at University Archive and Records Centre, main John Rylands University Library.

Scope and Content

Documents relating to Queen Edith Chapel, Cambridge. The collection mainly consists of routine reports, correspondence and minutes.

Administrative / Biographical History

Queen Edith Chapel is an independent evangelical church situated in South Cambridge. It was erected in 1956 by John Laing and Sons Ltd, (a well-known civil engineers and contractors), for a committee of local residents as a place of Christian worship in the expanding district of Cambridge. A Sunday school was begun in 1953, followed by an evening service in 1954 in the primary school nearby before the chapel was completed. The church expanded its services over the years with various groups such as homemakers, family service and various activities for young people. The church is led by a group of elders and is part of the Evangelical Alliance and Partnership UK.


Collection is divided into 5 series: 

  • Reports and Proposals
  • Minutes
  • Newsletters and Programmes
  • Correspondence
  • Photographs and Newspaper Cuttings

Access Information

The collection is open to any accredited reader.

The collection includes material which is subject to the Data Protection Act 1998. Under Section 33 of the Data Protection Act 1998 (DPA), The John Rylands University Library (JRUL) holds the right to process personal data for research purposes. The Data Protection (Processing of Sensitive Personal Data) Order 2000 enables the JRUL to process sensitive personal data for research purposes. In accordance with the DPA, the JRUL has made every attempt to ensure that all personal and sensitive personal data has been processed fairly, lawfully and accurately. Users of the archive are expected to comply with the Data Protection Act 1998, and will be required to sign a form acknowledging that they will abide by the requirements of the Act in any further processing of the material by themselves.

Open parts of this collection, and the catalogue descriptions, may contain personal data about living individuals. Some items in this collection may be closed to public inspection in line with the requirements of the DPA. Restrictions/closures of specific items will be indicated in the catalogue.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated by Mr David Jones of Cambridge who was the secretary of the chapel between 1968 and 1987.

Conditions Governing Use

Photocopies and photographic copies of material in the archive can be supplied for private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.

A number of items within the archive remain within copyright under the terms of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988; it is the responsibility of users to obtain the copyright holder's permission for reproduction of copyright material for purposes other than research or private study.

Prior written permission must be obtained from the Library for publication or reproduction of any material within the archive. Please contact the Head of Special Collections, John Rylands University Library, 150 Deansgate, Manchester, M3 3EH.


It is anticipated that additions may be made to the collection.


Grass, Tim, Gathering in his Name: The Story of the Open Brethren in Britain and Ireland(Milton Keynes: Paternoster, 2006).

Coad, F. Roy, A History of the Brethren Movement(Exeter: The Paternoster Press, 1968).

Corporate Names

Geographical Names