Letters to and from John Henry Manners (1778-1857) 5th Duke of Rutland,1795-1797

Scope and Content

The collection comprises one letter from the Duke of Rutland to 'Crathorne' (MS 52/1), and twoletters to the Duke from B.E. Sparke and S. Perceval. The letters are accompanied by 9ff of versesand prose essays on various subject, apparently student exercises.

Administrative / Biographical History

John Henry Manners was born in 1778. He became the 5th Duke of Rutland in 1787 on the death ofhis father Charles (1754-1787), the 4th Duke. John Henry married Lady Elizabeth Howard, daughter ofthe 5th Earl of Carlisle. He was a colonel of the Leicestershire militia, recorder for Grantham,Cambridge and Scarborough and a trustee of the British Museum. He was succeeded on his death in 1857by his eldest son, Charles Cecil. John Henry lived at Belvoir Castle in Leicestershire.


The items in the collection have been arranged chronologically.

Access Information

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection.

Separated Material

Other collections containing papers relating to the 5th Duke of Rutland are recorded on the National Register of Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). TheDepartment will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.

LANGUAGE: English, Latin, Italian and Greek

Custodial History

The collection was acquired by The University of Nottingham's Library in June 1951.