Holy Trinity Church of England Primary School Collection

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Administrative and photographic records of Holy Trinity CE Primary School, Richmond, and its predecessor schools.

Administrative / Biographical History

By 1862 there existed a boys school in Lower Mortlake Road, Richmond (referred to in contemporary records as 'Richmond St John's District C of E Boys School'), and an infants school in West Sheen Vale (referred to as 'New Richmond Infants School'). The head teachers at that time were Albert Gosney and Elizabeth Coulston respectively, the latter of whom held the post until 1903, by which time the infants school was the largest in Richmond Borough. By 1871 the expanding infants school had moved to premises in Lower Mortlake Road and a girls school had been established in the former infants building. The three schools were by that time collectively called Holy Trinity Schools. The West Sheen Vale building was later demolished, and the girls school moved to Princes Road. By the late 1930s the Lower Mortlake Road juniors site had become a mixed school. By the 1950s this site had become overcrowded, and in 1954, in response to campaigning by the school and parents, Richmond Borough Council granted the school the use of a plot of land in Carrington Road. However, it was not until 1970 that the Ministry of Education finally approved the move. The mixed school reopened at Carrington Road under its current name in 1974, and currently serves juniors, infants and nursery-aged children.

Arrangement

The Holy Trinity Church of England Primary School Collection is arranged into seven series records:

  • S3/1 Log Books, 1862 - 1987
  • S3/2 Admissions Registers, 1872 - 1994
  • S3/3 Head Teacher's reports to managers, 1972-1980
  • S3/4 'School notes', 1947-1980
  • S3/5 Photographs, 1965-2012
  • S3/6 Events documents, 1974
  • S3/7 Class attendance registers, 1939-1944

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html