Scope and Content

Ardley is situated around fifteen miles north of Oxford. The parish was united with Fewcott in 1921 to become Ardley with Fewcott and Fewcott parish church was demolished in 1959. Fewcott was once a chapelry of Stoke Lyne, and this is where the early records can be found, see PAR255. The later registers form part of this collection, though two marriage registers and other papers can be found at PAR102.

The records were originally deposited in the Bodleian Library by Rev AFP Correll in 1960, Rev GA de Burgh Thomas in 1977 and again in 1980. The material was then transferred to the Oxfordshire Record Office.

A conspectus of new and old references is included at the end of this catalogue. Catalogued by Alison Smith, October 2006, with additions in March 2009.

Access Information