File: "Honorary Committee"

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 CQA2/1/3
  • Dates of Creation
      8 Sep 1958-25 May 1962
  • Physical Description
      49 pieces; 53 leaves.

Scope and Content

File of material relating to the establishment of the Honorary Committee which was set up to support CQ when the journal was first being planned. The Committee was ultimately comprised of 35 eminent poets, writers and critics. The material includes an address list for the Honorary Committee, and a bundle of signed forms of acceptance and letters from writers sent in response to Cox's request for support. Figures represented include Frank Kermode, E.M.W. Tillyard, Geoffrey Tillotson, Kathleen Tillotson, L.C. Knights, James R. Sutherland, J.D. Jump, David Daiches, R.G. Cox, John Butt, Kenneth Muir, and Clifford Leech. Also includes two circular letters sent out to committee members.

Related Material

Forms of acceptance from other writers are included in their respective correspondence files at CQA1/1.